how to make your own coffee creamer.

I love coffee creamer. Maybe more than I love coffee itself. During my sentence employment as a Starbucks barista I started to appreciate coffee in and of itself a little more but in my soul I am a girly, frou-frou coffee drinker.

I’m down with that.

I don’t really have a complicated, picky typical order at the ‘Bux though, like many partners and ex-partners do. I’m a fan of a short Pike Place with 2 pumps Toffee Nut and lots of room for cream. My poison when I’d arrive for a 4:30am opening shift would be 4 shots of espresso — yes, four shots of espresso — with x pumps of caramel syrup (the number escapes me now) and whipped cream stirred in — a drink known to partners as “bunny juice.” (I quit the hard stuff though when I discovered I had become a host organism to a tiny human being).

Currently, my drink of choice is a grande soy caramel latte.

So, yeah. Not overly complicated, but definitely girly and frou-frou.

I figure I make up whatever indie cred I lost right there with my beer snobbery.

Anyway, so now that I don’t work for Starbucks and don’t get free partner bevs or a discount, and we’re down to one income, I make due with plain jane coffee at home. But where I get fancy is the coffee creamers.

They are delicious. But they are soooo bad for you. There’s not a stitch of “real food” in them. It’s all partially hydrogenated soybean oils and corn syrup and gross gross icky gross.

Every time I drink it I think, I am shortening my life by a few hours or days. Mmmmm. *slurp*

I posted on Facebook the other day extolling my love for terrible, terrible, delicious coffee creamer, and my friend Krista commented that she had figured out how to make her own coffee creamer to avoid the bad stuff. I was intrigued, so I did some research and discovered a few recipes.

This website has quite a few different flavors to make, but I opted for the almond orange cappucino flavor, because my friend J. is kind of obsessed with almond-flavored anything, and I wanted to see what the hub-bub was all about. And, the end result was so easy and so yummy and so not full of trans fats that I may never buy coffee creamer ever again.

First, you take a can of sweetened condensed milk and pour it in a clean Ball jar. Then, add 1 1/2 cups of nonfat milk. Then, remember you wanted to write a blog post about making coffee creamer and go and find your camera and take a picture.

Then go get your kids and teach them about density, because the condensed milk is more dense than the nonfat milk so you’ll need to stir it up really well to get it all mixed up.

Add some flavor extracts — I’m pretty sure you could do whatever your heart desired, but like I said, I wanted to do something almond-y so I added 1 tsp of almond extract and 1/2 tsp of orange extract. Then I put the lid on the jar and shook it really well, so it was all creamy and frothy and yum, like so:

Then I poured some to my steaming cup of Cafe Verona:

Why yes, that is a box of Huggies in the background.

And yes, my ISO is set too high and that’s why the picture is grainy.

But the coffee creamer was yummy. I wasn’t crazy about the orange flavor, so I think I might just do almond extract next time.

Oh, and that website I linked to earlier says it’ll keep in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. As if it’ll last that long. But remember your lesson in density and shake it up each time you use it to keep the condensed milk from settling on the bottom.

Enjoy!

4 responses to “how to make your own coffee creamer.

  1. I am not a coffee drinker…BUT I like the idea of making your own creamer because you know exactly what’s going in it! Very smart!

  2. this is a great post, I love it. I will definitely be trying the almond! Take *that*, International Delight!

Leave a Reply

