menu plan monday: the week of february 8, 2010

I stayed up too late watching the stupid Colts lose the Superbowl. *yawn* So I am getting a late start on planning my menu for this week.

Monday: curried split pea soup in the crockpot that I was going to make last week before we ran out of curry. Whoops. And homemade bread, if I can get around to it. We have small group tonight but I am unsure if we will go because Sam is still coughing and has a runny nose and since we gave all the kids at playgroup roseola last week, I’d prefer not to give all the kids at small group his cold this week.

Tuesday: salmon patties, peas, orange ginger sweet potatoes

Wednesday: whole chicken in the crockpot, green beans, brown rice

Thursday:Ā  turkey chili and cornbread

Friday: chicken stir fry, jasmine rice [get turkey out to thaw]

Saturday: the roast turkey I was supposed to make last Saturday, but didn’t because I forgot to get it out to thaw the night before

Sunday: leftovers

You can participate in Menu Plan Monday, too, if you want! Even though our menu plan has been um, flexible, so far, at least I have something written down so I am not totally baffled every day at 4pm.

8 responses to “menu plan monday: the week of february 8, 2010

  1. How small is your turkey? Will it thaw in only one day? Do you have a recipe for the ginger sweet potatoes? S0unds yummy!

    • Tim and Alissa Birkel

      Hmm. It’s a 12 lb turkey. I hadn’t considered that it might take longer than a day to thaw. I’m new at this — can you tell? šŸ˜‰

      I don’t have a recipe for the ginger sweet potatoes, because it’s one of those random things my mom made up on the fly that ended up being amazingly good (she does that all the time). I think she just peeled and cubed the sweet potatoes and boiled them until they were soft, drained the water, and added some butter, some brown sugar, orange zest, and grated fresh ginger. But I don’t have any measurements, sorry. A quick google search indicates that there are recipes for it though, so I might reference a few of those and cobble together a recipe from that. If what I make ends up being yummy, I will post my recipe.

  2. We stayed up watching the Colts lose, too. Your menu sounds great. My family loves jasmine rice, too!

    • Tim and Alissa Birkel

      Yes, it was very sad. We’re huge Colts fans around here, so it was very sad indeed.

      Jasmine rice is yummy. I don’t know why, but it just tastes better than other white rice.

  3. Mmm! I must be feeling better because that all sounds delicious! šŸ™‚ Can I come over??

    • Tim and Alissa Birkel

      I am so glad you are feeling better! You must be in the 2nd trimester now. You are welcome to come over, if you can find a way to get here from Kansas!

    • Tim and Alissa Birkel

      thanks! last week was actually my first time, but i think mr. linky included my last time note from last time by accident. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

