menu plan monday: the week of february 15, 2010

The internet is being dumb so I’m having a hard time posting my menu plan. Argh.

Technology:  it’s a love-hate relationship.

Monday: Moroccan Lentil Soup

Tuesday (LOST! LOST! LOST!): hamburgers with homemade hamburger buns, frozen veggies, orange ginger sweet potatoes (we’re addicted to sweet potatoes apparently).

Wednesday (Bible study night for Alissa): curried split pea soup in the crockpot, homemade bread. You guys. This soup is amazing. So amazing, in fact, that I’m going to show you how to make it. Tutorial coming soon. Like sometime after Wednesday.

Thursday (worship practice night for Tim): spicy slow cooker black bean soup, cornbread, salad. I pink puffy heart my slow cooker. Especially on nights where one of us has to dash out the door.

Friday: pork vindaloo goa-style (Tim’s specialty!), naan

Saturday: the dang roast turkey that I have forgotten two weeks in a row! I’m getting it out right now and putting it in the fridge to start thawing.

Sunday: leftovers

Also, I have been craving liver. I know that’s kind of weird, but I like liver and onions. A lot. I just don’t know where to buy it around here. It’s probably something I have to ask for at the meat counter. But you guys? If I can find liver I am eating it. And giving it to Sam. And Tim can find something else to eat since he doesn’t like liver. His loss. Ever since I read Real Food (an amazing, amazing book, by the way) a couple weeks ago I have had the worst craving for liver and also roe. Like in sushi. Mmmm.

I’m a freak. This isn’t news to me.

Want to plan your menu, too? Participate in Menu Plan Monday…you’ll be glad you did!

6 responses to “menu plan monday: the week of february 15, 2010

  1. We bought a 1/4 side of grassfed beef a year ago, and all I have left is liver, tongue, and oxtail. I’d be willing to share the liver with you 🙂 I’ve never had it, so I have no idea how to fix it. Hey- March 6th, y’all can come for lunch after the workshop, and we’ll have liver, and fix something else for the husbands. How’s that sound?

    • Tim and Alissa Birkel

      sorry it’s taken me a few days to get back to you, Joanna. we would love to join you for lunch, but unfortunately Sam takes a nap around 12:30 or 1, so i don’t think it would work out.

      i still need to sign up for that workshop…i’m going to go do that right now.

  2. You can get organic liver at Wild Oats. I made it for Josh once – ask him how that went. 🙂

  3. Liver is sooo good for you. I wished I liked the taste more. I’ve been reading Nourishing Traditions and they have lots of recipes for it. I want to find a source for organic liver. But where we live it is tough to find anything organic. Well, maybe bagged salad but organic liver–good luck!

    Well I hope you can find a good source!

    • Tim and Alissa Birkel

      it’s tough where we live, too. there is a whole foods by my parents’ house and we will sometimes go there but it is SO expensive that we usually don’t buy much. 😦

Leave a Reply

