curried split pea soup: a tutorial of sorts

You all may have noticed the prevalence of curried split pea soup on my menu plans recently. I’m telling you, this soup is so yummy. I mean, it’s an Alton Brown recipe. I’m not sure how you could go wrong with that. But what makes this soup so amazing is it’s simplicity. I used to think of split pea soup as being a sort of fussy meal — multiple pots, frying up bacon, or having leftover ham on the premises, which we never do, because we don’t eat very much pork. I was also under the impression that split pea soup took a long time to make, and with a 1-year old, time is of the essence. So I kind of wrote off split pea soup.

I don’t exactly remember how I came across this soup recipe, but immediately I liked that it didn’t take forever to make, and it didn’t seem overly complicated. So, without further ado, I will show you how you, too, can produce a delicious, hearty soup for your family.

First, the ingredients:

That’s a bag of split peas, chicken broth, an onion, butter, curry powder (not shown…but important), minced garlic, and kosher salt. The original recipe only calls for 12 oz of split peas, but I had a 16 oz bag, and what would I do with a random 4 oz of split peas? So I use the whole bag.

I was out of chicken broth at the moment, so I used water and chicken bouillon. That’s what’s in the ziploc bag. I would have much preferred real chicken broth, but I had to make do.

Because I used the bouillon and it’s already super salty, I left out the kosher salt, but I wanted to include it in my picture because it made the picture look better.

And, finally, the most important part:

My crock pot.  The original recipe isn’t a crock pot recipe, but it was really easy to convert. And less time in the kitchen = more time doing something else, which is a good thing.

OK. So, get out all your ingredients. Then pour the split peas in a colander and rinse ’em and sort ’em, like so:

Make a note to remove the watermarks all over your sink later.

OK, that’s not actually part of the recipe.

But this is: take 2 tablespoons of butter and throw it in the crock pot. Then chop up an onion and throw that in, too:

Then learn how to keep your camera strap out of your frame.

Oh wait, that’s not part of the recipe either.

Anyway.

Add some minced garlic. And by “some” I mean, “as much as your family likes”. The Birkels like garlic a great deal, so I added more. I couldn’t tell you how much though.

Why yes, I am using one of Sam’s baby spoons to “measure” out garlic.

And then….this:

Curry powder. If you’re not a fan of curry, I’d say to just use the amount the recipe specifies, which is 1 tablespoon. If you like curry, pour it on.

Then, add 4 cups of broth. The original recipe calls for 5 cups, but I reduced it by one cup since it’s a crock pot recipe so there won’t be any evaporation. Plus, we like a thicker soup.

Here comes the hard part. Turn your crock pot on the highest setting if you’re making this at noon or later like I do; if you are on the ball and throw stuff in your crock pot early in the day, use a different, lower setting. But be forewarned that I have never made it that way, so I don’t know how it would turn out.

Then walk away. Come back in 4-5 hours, and stir the soup a few times with a wooden spoon. The original recipe asks you to use a stick blender and blah blah blah. I’ve found that just stirring with a spoon makes it the right consistency, like so:

Dish out into bowls and eat! I’ve found this recipe feeds Tim, Sam and myself adequately, but we like eating. That said, I still don’t think it makes a ton of soup, but it’s easy to double.

(And that’s iced tea, not wine, btw).

Curried Split Pea Soup

serves 3-4

based on this recipe from the Food Network

2 tablespoons butter

1 onion, chopped

minced garlic to taste

1 (16 oz) bag split peas, picked over and rinsed

4 cups chicken broth, or water with bouillon

1-2 tablesoons curry powder, or to taste

Add ingredients to crock pot. Set crock pot on desired setting. Come back at dinner. Eat.

Particularly yummy with fresh bread.

One response to “curried split pea soup: a tutorial of sorts

  1. Okay, I really do need to make this. Just starred it in my reader!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

