sometimes i envy men…

I love walks. I love walking at night. I love wandering around outside at night. But, because I’m a woman, it’s probably not very safe to go wandering around outside at night.

The other day I was driving to a baby shower at church. There were two cyclists on the side of the road. I couldn’t really see what they were doing, but they weren’t on their bikes. One possibly looked injured? I couldn’t really tell. I thought about rolling down my window and asking if they needed anything, but then some other part of me was like, well, you don’t know these guys, and there’s two of them and only one of you, and blah blah blah. So I just drove by. I felt like the guys who walked on by in the story of the Good Samaritan. Before the baby shower one of the elders was there doing something, so a friend and I told him about the cyclists so he could go see if they needed anything, but it turns out they were just doing a repair and were just fine.

Sometimes I feel like all this caution hinders the way God wants us as Christians to minister to the world, or at the very least keeps me from meeting interesting people or living a part of a cool story.

Speaking of cool stories, have you read this blog? You really should read it. Abraham Piper is a really, really good writer, and I have to admit I am a little jealous of his 4-5 mile meanderings.  I live in a semi-rural subdivision between Anderson and Pendleton — a pretty “safe” place, really — but I still think I should come inside once it gets dark.

I don’t want to be too overly cautious, but at the same time, I don’t want to be stupid either. It’s a fine line.  And, it’s not fair, but I guess that’s just how it is.

One response to “sometimes i envy men…

  1. Someone shared at church this Sunday about a very similar situation. Except she pulled over to help the men after driving by once and turning back around.

    It turns out they were not from this country (she didn’t know where they were from, but they had thick European accents) and they were lost. She was cautious–but they were so grateful for her help and she ended up chatting with them for a while–turns out they really needed someone to talk to. She didn’t go into anymore detail than that.

    Anyway–I have totally taken up a lot of your time…but what you wrote just reminds me of Philip and Ethiopian Eunuch in Acts 8:26-40–definitely worth a read!

Leave a Reply

