11 weeks.

I never post anymore. Sorry. Or maybe you’re not sorry, but I am.

Anyhoo, I had my first prenatal appointment with my wonderful, amazing home birth midwives today. I just love them. They have such good chemistry together and I feel so at ease with them. I think that the birth will have a very easy-going vibe. Well, of course, labor itself will not be easy, but it will be easier when I am surrounded by loving, supportive people.  They empower me to make good choices for my prenatal care and encourage me to take care of myself. I have found with this pregnancy that I just don’t have as much time or energy to devote to thinking about it all the time and sometimes my nutrition or need for rest and relaxation gets pushed to the back burner. I am following the Brewer Diet again this time with less emphasis on drinking so much milk. I think drinking a ton of milk like I did with my last pregnancy led not only to my weight gain and puffiness toward the end of the pregnancy and also Sam’s milk intolerance now. He can eat cheese but straight-up milk still gives him a tummy ache, even the organic expensive stuff. But I digress.

Baby’s heartrate was at 156, which was faster than Sam’s ever was. He was always in the 140s or 130s. I’ve heard that girls are supposed to be faster than boys, and Sam INSISTS that it is a girl. I can ask him in different ways, change up the word order, and every time he says GIRL. I’ve asked him, “what if it’s a boy?” and he shakes his heads no and points to himself like, I’m a boy, Mama. I just love this kid.

I loved hearing the baby’s heartbeat. It’s so reassuring. It also makes it feel more real. I have a lot to get done in the next 6 months or so. I keep wanting to snuggle with Sam. I think it’s dawning on me that the era of Baby Sam is ending and the era of Big Kid Sam is quickly approaching (if it’s not already here). I kind of want to co-sleep again. I don’t think it would be a great idea in the long run, but I do miss that little boy at night.  I miss my snuggle times.

These are unrelated notes:

I want to play the guitar. Again.

I am contemplating dreadlocks, but my hair is too short for now. Tim is hoping this is a phase that will pass as he associates dreadlocks with smelly hippies, but I have wanted dreadlocks since college (a looooong time ago now, it seems) and I am not sure the desire will pass in the next year or so as I let my hair grow out some more. We’ll see.

I wish I could afford all organic food all the time.

I want to go camping. In Michigan. Right now.

I want tabboulah and a beer. Tabboulah I can do…beer not so much.

We visited a new church on Sunday and I LOVED it. It’s smallish, urban, young, and not too far away from us. Also, I walked away from the service with a renewed love for Jesus and a stronger desire to serve Him, which I figure are good things, good fruit.

I have a really great husband who puts up with more than his fair share of my crap on an hourly basis.

I have a sweet baby boy who hugs my legs and reaches up to hold my hand and says, “Hey, Mama. Hey, Mama.” when he wants to love me.

I have a sweet babe in my belly who’s little heartbeat sounds like whooshwhooshwhooshwhoosh.

We have a boy name and a girl name picked out, but we’re generally not telling, unless you’re really special.

3 responses to “11 weeks.

  1. Clarence Mason

    Tell us more about your new found Church. Where is it and tell us more about what you found there.
    Yes, Sam is rapidly becoming a little big boy. Not a bad thing at all. I watched you go from new born to Mom in a flash. I remember your first day: I was scheduled to referee the State Soccer Tournament. I took your Mom to the Hospital in my Referee uniform. Then, poof— you have a baby, just that fast.

  2. Tim and Alissa Birkel

    Dad, the church we visited is called The Mercy House — http://www.themercyhouse.com. It’s a plant of a church we were sort of familiar with in Muncie. It meets in an old, abandoned elementary school in urban Anderson, on the west side. It’s small — there were maybe 40-50 people there on Sunday — but I sort of get the impression that it has more people when AU is in session. It seemed to be mostly young people — AU students, recent grads, and their families and kids, so we fit in pretty well. They preach through the entire New Testament, book by book, verse by verse, and on Sunday they were in Revelation. It was just really cool, and the people seemed authentic and kind. It reminded us of the church we went to in Muncie, the revolution, which we miss dearly. Anyway, we’re planning to go back soon, but Tim plays set at Crossroads on Sunday, so not this week.

  3. Very exciting! I am super jealous (in a good way heehe) that you are having a home birth!! It sounds just amazing. I am sure it will be great having laid back midwives as well.

    It’s crazy how big our firsts are going to seem once these babies get here. They are going to be great older siblings though. I can’t wait to see Michaela’s expressions when she meets her sibling.

Leave a Reply

